Bartok, Shostakovich, Lutoslawski: Three Journeys Through Dark Landscapes Video (DVD)

An absorbing documentary on the work of Bartok, Shostakovich, and Lutoslawski
Item Code: FI-6929

List $149.95
Sale-Price: $139.99
You Save: $9.96 (7%)

Use your mouse to scratch off the area below to get your coupon code and enter it in at checkout to Save!

Product Description:
This 52-minute stirring documentary shows the consequence of war, political intrigue, and international turmoil on the music of Bartok, Lutoslawski and Shostakovich. These three major European composers of the twentieth century struggled for artistic authenticity in an era of extreme social change. Influenced by a rising tide of national consciousness, each succeeded in leaving his unique mark on his country's classical musical heritage. The documentary examines Bartok's Bluebeard's Castle, Shostakovich's Symphony No. 4, and Lutoslawski's Venetian Games in particular, while shedding light on other powerful works by these composers as well. If it ever was in doubt, the film underscores the visceral connection between music and politics. It shows how, amid the upheaval of war and in the face of Soviet artistic repression, these artists were able to tell truths in their music that, if told in words, might actually have cost them their lives.
Customer Reviews

Art Studio Furniture & Equipment
Art Instruction DVDs & Art Education
Drawing  Supplies
Painting Supplies
More Art Forms
Children's Art