War and Peace Video (DVD)

Item Code: FI-729

Mfg List: $89.95
Sale Price: $79.99
You Save: $9.96 (11%)

Product Description:
War and Peace Video(VHS/DVD). In the period between the two World Wars, composers sought to express in music the jarring and discordant sense that civilization was giving way to barbarism. During the same time, jazz burst upon the international musical scene. Performers include the Moscow Classical Ballet Company, Maxim Shostakovich conducting his father’s Symphony No 7, Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Sir Peter Pears and Galina Vishnevskaya in Britten’s War Requiem, and an electric performance of An American in Paris by Bernstein and the New York Philharmonic. Contents include excerpts from: Stravinsky’s Rite of Spring, Ragtime; Elgar’s Cello Concerto; Satie’s Three Waltzes of the Fastidious Dandy; Joplin’s Maple Leaf Rag; Hindemith’s 1922 Suite for Piano; Milhaud’s La Cr?ation du monde; Prokofiev’s Quintet in G minor; Gershwin’s An American in Paris; Ravel’s Piano Concerto in G; Weill’s Kleine Dreigroschen Musik; Bart?k’s Sonata for Two Pianos and Percussion; Shostakovich’s Symphony No 7 (‘The Leningrad’); Britten’s War Requiem. (60 minutes)
Customer Reviews